Cubie Street was named after Adam Cubie, a local pottery manufacturer. Originally built as the Telephone Exchange in 1910 by architect William Thomas Oldrieve (1853 - 1922) the building is built in an Edwardian Baroque composition and is Category C Listed.
The two-storey building, plus basement, is formed in an L-shaped plan. The facade to Cubie Street is composed of a Portland Stone base, rising through the central entrance to a curved cornice with wreath motif, eaves detail and window surrounds. This is sharply contrasted with red brick infill between the window elements. The asymmetric elevational composition is punctuated by an arched pend opening to the north- east end. Above the entrance is a datestone which bears '1910' and the inscription 'TELEPHONE EXCHANGE'. The remaining elevations are faced in white painted harling.
From 1958 until recently, the building had been the home of the Royal Mail sorting office for the east end. The delivery bay extension to the south gable and the extension housing the toilet facilities to west were added during this time.
Following the Crownpoint Sports Complex development in 1986, this building stands as the only building on Cubie Street.